Armstrong Lodge No. 26


 Byrom Price, PM   Worshipful Master
 David Lewis, PM   Senior Warden
 Michael Ratcliff, PM   Junior Warden
 Fred Reihl   Secretary
 Vacant   Treasurer
 Thomas Laskowski, PM   Senior Deacon
 Vacant   Junior Deacon
 Vacant   Senior Steward
 Vacant   Junior Steward
 Walter T. Evans   Tiler
 Vacant   Chaplain

Past Masters

Byrom A. Price, PM 2022
Thomas E. Laskowski 2020-2021 Byrom A. Price 2019
J. David Lewis, III, PM 2016-2018 Connard R. Estep, PM 2015
Connard R. Estep 2014 Michael J. Ratcliff, PM 2013
Michael J. Ratcliff, PM 2012 Michael J. Ratcliff 2011
J. David Lewis III, PSGS 2010 Forrest A. Boettcher 2009
J. David Lewis III 2017-2008 Terrence A. Van Gorder, PGTil 1998-2007
Terrence A Van Gorder, PGTil 1998 Terrence A Van Gorder 1996
Barry S. Bleacher, PSGD 1994 Joseph J. Deptula, Jr. 1993
Joseph J. Deptula, Jr. 1992 Robert E Wolstenholme, PSGD 1990
John S. Hanna, Jr., PSGW 1989 Robert G. Burgess 1988
Barry S. Bleacher, PSGD 1987 Russell H. Cross, Jr. 1986
Thaddeus J. Twardowski 1984 Kenneth G. Kincaid, PM 1983
Sheldon L. Edwards, PJGD 1977 J. Robert Ashton, PGSB, PGC 1975
Warrem S. Glanden 1969 Homer F. Lutton 1961


Armstrong Lodge No. 26 A.F. & A.M. was chartered on June 27, 1870 and could rightly be called the “mother Lodge” of Newport, because of the rapid rise in membership during the 1940’s and 50’s.

It would help four Lodges get their start in the Newport area. Included would be Ionic Lodge No. 31 in 1950, Unity Lodge No. 32 in 1955, Christiana Lodge No. 35 in 1963 and High Noon Lodge No. 38 in 1978.

     The events of the last fifty years have shone brightly from the labors of the quarries of Armstrong Lodge No. 26. In addition to the formation of new Lodges they have also had the honor of four of them members being elected Grand Master of Masons in Delaware; Joseph W. H. Watson, served two terms, in 1880 and 1881, Paul Yearsley in 1947, Arthur G. Craig in 1965 and David J. Marianelli in 1989.

     In 1964, PGM Paul Yearsley retired as Treasurer of the Lodge after twenty-two years of service. He was the first DeMolay to occupy the office of Grand Master in 1947. In 1971, PGM Arthur G. Craig retired as Secretary of the Lodge after twenty-three years of service in that office.

     After serving as Senior Grand Warden and Deputy Grand Master, Grand Master-elect Edward P. Sturgis was called from labor on September 15, 1974 about two weeks prior to his scheduled installation as a very young Grand Master at the age of 40. Brother “Ed” was a hard working Master Mason who had been awarded nearly every honor possible as a DeMolay, including the DeMolay Cross of Honor.

     While many brethren have been involved in the in the maintenance of the Newport Masonic Temple over the years, few can equal the tireless efforts of Past Master Raymond Loose and Brother Robert W. Heinel. Though they have been called from labor, their devotion to serving the membership in providing a well-maintained facility will long be remembered and appreciated by the various bodies that use the facility.

     Through the influence of PGM Craig, the early English Table Lodge was reconstituted at Armstrong Lodge. It proved to be a very popular event and it was not unusual to have 250 to 300 brethren in attendance.

     As part of the 100th Anniversary Celebration of Armstrong Lodge, a public installation of officers was held at the H.C. Conrad High School Athletic Field on June 27, 1970. Much hard work had to be done to make this event a success, as the field had not been in use for some time. In addition, the Lodge furniture had to be moved to the field as well. There were over 200 family members and friends who watched from the bleachers.

     On April 18, 2002 the officers and members of Armstrong Lodge presented a long overdue tribute to PGM Arthur G. “Pete” Craig. This event was well attended and included Grand Master James S. Russell, Jr., nine Past Grand Masters and about eighty other brethren.